[Located at Manor road and Martling Avenue in Castleton Corners], the Manor Road Armory and its signature three-story towers and corner turrets was noted as “a unique contributor to the city’s rich military history.”
It was one of only three armories built statewide in the 1920s and one of the last completed. Constructed for the Headquarters Troop of the 51st Calvary Brigade, it traces its origins to Troop F, a calvary troop that was the Island’s only National Guard troop when it was organized in 1912.
In 1913, the city began leasing Manor Farm, one of the city’s leading equestrian centers, for Troop F’s use. The city later acquired the property with planning for a new armory beginning in 1922.
The building’s architects, Harold H. Werner and August P. Windolph, Columbia University classmates who became leading designers of public bathhouses, designed the Armory in a style inspired by medieval castles and fortresses. silive
It is presently home to the 42nd Infantry Division of the National Guard.